I Took A Risk…

woman_on_tightrope

 

“Do one thing every day that scares you.”        ~Eleanor Roosevelt

One of my intentions for 2014 is to follow Eleanor Roosevelt’s advice. I’m happy to share that day one has been a rip-roaring success! Following on the bootstraps of this blog and my one hit wonder Haiku for The Good Men Project, I was bitten by the “must write and submit on January 1 to make it real” bug.  It only made sense…NOT, but nothing ventured, nothing gained right?

Well guess what?  Not only did I write and submit an essay, it was accepted for publication in elephant journal!  I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t excited.  Heck, I’m more than excited.  I’m ecstatic.  I feel on top of the world.  It’s only one 929 word article, but it is a start and a nice progression from my previous 17 syllables.

I’m hopeful this is the first of many successful writing submissions this year, but regardless of what the future brings, I’ve had a fantastical first day of 2014.

clb  ♡

3 thoughts on “I Took A Risk…

  1. I am jealous! I am dying to get published myself…of course I have to write in order to get published. I’m hoping being back in school (good luck to you, by the way! oh the jokes involved in going to school to become a writer…I’m in the same boat) and starting my blog will get my rusty gears going again and I’ll be able to get myself out there. I look forward to reading your entries as you embark on your exciting new ventures, like getting your name out there! 🙂

    1. Haha! I completely understand about “getting the rusty gears in going.” I want to write, but as I shared in a previous post, I seem to teeter between being scared of failure and scared of success. I was excited last night when I received the letter from elephant journal and then freaked out because I was worried it wasn’t good enough. Obviously, they think it is, but I spent hours after receiving their response self-critiquing the piece. That is another goal I have this year. I want to learn to enjoy the process…from beginning to end. 🙂

      1. Weirdly enough, I share that sense of success fear (which is hilarious since I haven’t succeeded yet, HAH). But it is scary. Someone says “Hey, we like your stuff!” and you’re faced with this idea of “But do you really? And will others like it?” Also, I kind of dread being successful (less than I dread becoming successful, because I’ll dread being successful if it means being successful…oh dear, I’m rambling) because then it means you have something to work towards. You have a high point and you have to try to maintain that. It’s certainly nerve-wracking.

        But you’ve got the ball rolling and that’s all you need! You seem to be a very eloquent writer and I’m sure you’ll do well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

