Help Me Name The Monster

As I was driving home tonight, I began brainstorming about a number of future posts I’m planning on writing and I realized that several of them will be touching on self-doubt, a term I despise.  I can’t argue its existence,  but I was boring myself trying to mentally compose different ways to reference the monster that lives within me.

So, monsterI decided the monster needs name.

We all know it’s much easier to prepare for battle when you know who your opponent is, so I’ve decided to give mine a name.  Then, when I finally do slay him, there will be something sentimental to put on his headstone.

This is where my 356 followers (that I still don’t know how found me) come in.  I need your help.  I will accept suggestions through January 5, 2014 at 11:59pm.  The winner of the name the self- doubt monster contest will then receive a genuine Alaskan moose nugget piece of jewelry.  Yes, I’m serious!  This is Alaska and this is what people in Alaska do. They pick up moose dingleberries, shellac them and then sell them.  Note:  this gem of a prize will be purchased and not handmade by me.  Haha!

mn tie mn key mn ear

 

 

 

Help a girl out here folks.  The only thing worse than fighting self-doubt, will be posting this contest and not having anyone respond.

On your mark…get set…GO!

clb  ♡

5 thoughts on “Help Me Name The Monster

  1. I don’t have a name for your monster; maybe it needs to be something ordinary so that he (yes, it is a he) seems easy to defeat. Self-doubt is just a word (okay, hyphenated word, but it is all the same). I think you need to give it less power than it seems to have in your life as you project an image of confidence…

    ps you’re not that hard to find….

    1. How did you find me? HaHa! Thank you for the compliment, and like I said earlier, I truly believe 2014 will be the year of something wonderful. What, I’m not certain of yet, but whatever it is and whenever it happens, it will be marvelous!

  2. It was a tough assignment, and I don’t see many people lining up for the incentive! We have lots of elk and deer in Colorado, but I’ve not seen any jewelry from it.
    Hmmm. Self-doubt isn’t the enemy – it can help you grow. You just need it to be in perspective, not crippling. Don’t give it more power than it deserves….. We all have it sitting on our shoulder, but it quiets when I listen to my soul. Yours will too.

    1. Thank you so much for your kind words. It’s funny. I’d completely forgotten about this post, even though it’s only been a few weeks since I posted it. I wrote it one night when I was feeling in a bit of tizzy. I was feeling horribly intimidated by every blog I read, and feeling defeated. I’m still intimidated 🙂 but the feeling of defeat is lessening. When I read your response, my first inkling was to delete the essay, but then I realized that even though it’s only been a short time, I’m settling in to the blog world. I am writing from the heart, and for myself with hope that someone, somewhere will like it, instead of writing with the sole purpose of entertaining others. Nothing feels as wonderful as an unexpected “like” for a piece you’ve written, but worrying about how to get that “like” almost dissuaded me from blogging. I’ve accepted the fact that my blog may sometimes appear chaotic to others, as I bounce from a “woe is me piece, to a Haiku and then to an emotional journal entry,” and I’m OK with that. I think you’re very right. As I’ve settled in and listened to myself, I realize the monster is dying a slow death all on his own.

Leave a Reply

