I Can Write and I Can Edit, But It Seems That Never The Twain Shall Meet

I write.  Sometimes I write well.

               I am a 4.0 student in a well-respected writing program.

I edit.   Most of the time, I edit well.

                        I even earn a few bucks here and there editing academic papers.

bad-grammar-makes-me-sic

Nothing makes me crazier than when “there” family went “their”…. and God  bless those with run-on sentences, dangling modifiers and passive voice.  You may have survived 2012, but Darwin’s theory will eventually secure your fate.

However, it is now day four of DreamsinAlaska and it appears that my ability to write a blog while avoiding amateur writing mistakes may be non-existent.  When I write academic papers, I edit over days and I always allow one good sleep before a final submission.  I began this blog with one primary goal: to develop and nourish discipline as a writer.  As a card-carrying member of Perfectionist Anonymous, I’ve had to make a choice, and I’ve decided that putting words on paper, is more important at this point in the “figure your life out through blogging” journey, than allowing myself to freeze frame in that of OCD Edit Freak.

Dr. B.A., therapist extraordinaire (you may call her Dr. Bad Ass) has said I spend entirely too much time deferring and making excuses for problem A, to avoid dealing with problem B.  OCD Edit Freak will spend all of her time obsessing over comma usage (problem A), thereby not writing (problem B).

After careful consideration, it’s apparent that OCD Edit Freak must be voted off the island.

Perfectionist's Guide to Results (Lo)

So…please accept this pre-disclosure of my priority (and something very new for me).  I will of course, give each post the quick pre-publish glance it deserves (knowing with certainty that there will be numerous things I will find later that will make my roll my eyes, cause anxiety and make me question my abilities as a writer), but I am consciously (and with the support of professional help..haha!) not going to allow myself to get caught up in the pesky dilemma of spending more time editing than writing.  This is not the Great American Novel and if it was, I would have the great American editor cleaning it up…

clb  ♡

8 thoughts on “I Can Write and I Can Edit, But It Seems That Never The Twain Shall Meet

  1. HAHAHAHAHA. I laugh because apparently I went through 12 drafts of my most recent post before publishing. It seems I can’t quell the OCD beast within either. AND YET, with my second post from Jan 1st, I still found a missing comma the following morning. God damnit.

    Enjoyed reading this post, thanks—and I can totally, totally relate.

    1. Thank you so much, but trust me! The OCD monster has in no way been quelled. He’s alive and well and trying to bust out in a way reminiscent of the Incredible Hulk. The whole purpose in writing the essay wasn’t to justify mistakes. It was more about saying “hey ya’ll, I may look stupid, but I’m not, so please don’t think I don’t know better, because I do!” Haha! 🙂

      1. Haha this is true, this is true. I think my biggest peeve is people pointing out mistakes I make, and then making a huge deal out of it like it’s a bigger crime for me because my career IS the English language. I mean, hi. That’s why the world has editors. Even our best writers make mistakes. Sheeeeesh! 🙂

  2. You just put into words extremely well how I feel when writing! I recently started my blog (if anyone can see it – I’m technologically challenged!) as the end point of an anxiety management program. I so get what you described – and I hope that you can feel you’re in great company as you overthink whether every “t” has been crossed, and every “i” has been dotted :).
    Enjoy the process, and even though the OCD monster might stick around for a long time, you will be the one pulling the strings very soon!

    1. Thank you so much or your kind words. I began my new classes this past Monday (which is why I’ve been quiet here the past few days) and I’m already back into “the” mode. I enjoy writing for my writing classes, but I have loved writing here, most likely because I’m spending more time on my feelings, than on technicalities. Oh’ well, as I mentioned in an earlier post, it’s all part of the process. 🙂 I look forward to following your blog.

Leave a Reply

