I’m officially an ele-pprentice!

Dear Cool elephant journal people,

Please consider me for your next group of apprentices.  At first glance, you may not view me as your ideal candidate, however sometimes you have to think outside of the box and just go for it.  I’m an almost 50 year old empty nester, who works as an elementary school administrative assistant by day and takes online classes by night.  I have four amazing children who are all living independently; and I’m single and looking for the man of my dreams. I’m not particularly cool or hip, and even though I’m committed to improvement, I completely suck at yoga.  I’m an aspiring writer who has confidence issues, and above all else, I drink far too much overpriced coffee.

I can assure you however, if you choose me, you won’t regret it.  What I lack in experience, I compensate for in enthusiasm.  I love elephant journal and I’m committed to making it the best it can be.  As your readership grows, it’s important to not forget the more “mature” group.  Many of us are novices to a lot of what elephant journal promotes, even though we’re curious. Because of this, I’m willing to become a sacrificial lamb for this process.  You can use me and abuse me, just as long as you promise to teach me. I’ve been published three times in the past few months, twice by elephant journal and once by The Good Men Project and I want more.

Please consider me to become one of the select few who can proudly hang a genuine “calligraphed, eco-printed “Certificate of Editorial Apprenticeship.”  I can do this!

Thank you for your consideration,

clb

After a week of craziness, including a lengthy Skype interview and having to edit the most horrific article I’ve ever read, I recieved this:

Congratulations and welcome to elephant! You are officially an ele-pprentice!

6 thoughts on “I’m officially an ele-pprentice!

  1. Well, I admit I don’t know what an elephant journal is, and even with a very quick Google scan. I am still mostly in the dark. However, considering what you went through to earn your achievement, I trumpet you a hearty congratulations!

    1. Thank you so much! It’s one of the largest online blogs out there right now, averaging over 7 million readers a month. It’s going to be a lot of work, but a wonderful learning environment.

Leave a Reply

